How can separate data into different groups for the Cumulative Distribution Function in R ?

Wei Keong Tan

I'm new in R. I'm trying to modify a TIBCO provided TERR function from https://community.tibco.com/modules/cdf-data-function-tibco-spotfirer. The script works fantastic for one dataset. However, when I modify the script and add line "group = as.factor(rep(c("group1", "group2"), each = N/2))" in the script, the "group" column is created and combined as a factor variable with two levels "group1" and "group2" which are repeated N/2 times each. The sample cdf plot as shown in the picture 2.

It doesn't separate the data into different groups and may I know how can I create a separate CDF for each group as shown in the picture 1 ?

Picture 1

image.png.9bf9feb0c8a88306b643606b90dbc156.png 

--R script--

library(ggplot2)

x = sort(analysisColumn, decreasing=FALSE, na.last=NA) # Sort increasing, removing missing values.

N=length(x)

cdfTable = data.frame(

value  = x,

prob = ((1:N)-1)/(N-1),

group = as.factor(rep(c("group1", "group2"), each = N/2))

)

ggplot(cdfTable, aes(x=value, y=prob, color = group)) + 

geom_line() + 

ggtitle("Multiple Cumulative Distribution Curves")

Picture 2

image.thumb.png.751eb9305c59f6e8da5586086b462dae.png 

Picture 3

image.thumb.png.e7ffe36c0c4e68f79e96119ea608e031.png

Could you elaborate on what your goal is? You have divided the data in two halves in the same loop as calculating the cdf, so you are creating group1 for the first N/2 rows and group2 for the rest, which is what you are getting. Did you mean to use a separate column to divide the data in two groups, and then calculate the cdf for each group?

If so, what is the name of the grouping column in your example?